Prayer Meeting on Goodness, FAithfulness, gentleness and Self-control

Theme : Fruit of Spirit – Galatians 5:22-23 with focus on Goodness, Faithfulness, Gentleness, Self-control

Kindness and Goodness

Acts 14:17, Titus 3:4-5

  • Acts 14:17 Yet he has not left himself without testimony: He has shown kindness by giving you rain from heaven and crops in their seasons; he provides you with plenty of food and fills your hearts with joy.”
  • Titus 3:4-5 But when the kindness and love of God our Savior appeared, he saved us, not because of righteous things we had done, but because of his mercy. He saved us through the washing of rebirth and renewal by the Holy Spirit,

5 Lord your kindness is shown to us in …

5 Thank God for the kindness and goodness we see in his people

5 Are there specific acts of Kindness and goodness you think God desires our body to do?  Pray for them

 Gentleness

Isaiah 42:1-7

“Here is my servant, whom I uphold, my chosen one in whom I delight; I will put my Spirit on him and he will bring justice to the nations. He will not shout or cry out, or raise his voice in the streets. A bruised reed he will not break, and a smoldering wick he will not snuff out. In faithfulness he will bring forth justice; he will not falter or be discouraged till he establishes justice on earth. In his law the islands will put their hope.” This is what God the Lord says — he who created the heavens and stretched them out, who spread out the earth and all that comes out of it, who gives breath to its people, and life to those who walk on it: “I, the Lord, have called you in righteousness; I will take hold of your hand. I will keep you and will make you to be a covenant for the people and a light for the Gentiles, to open eyes that are blind, to free captives from prison and to release from the dungeon those who sit in darkness.

 

5 Thank God for His Gentleness Toward Us (small group)

 

Faithfulness

5 A Prayer for Faithfulness from the Valley of Vision  (see other side)

(prayer to be read aloud by one person and prayed silently by the community)

 

5 Corporate prayers on being faithful in doctrine, deed, love, evangelism and mission. (be specific as you are led)

—-

10 Pray for the faithfulness of our missionaries

(Senti, Speyer, Cunningham, Van Hemert, Walters, Koning)

 

Self-Control

10 Ask God for Self-Control in Our Lives (small groups)

  1. With our appetites
  2. With our disciplines
  3. With our emotions

 

Concluding Prayer……………………………….. The Lord’s Prayer

 

 

 

A Prayer for Faithfulness from The Valley of Vision

 

Lord,

The world is artful to entrap,

approaches in fascinating guise, extends many a gilded bait,

presents many a charming face,

Let my faith scan every painted bauble (trinket), and escape every bewitching snare in a victory that overcomes all things,

In my duties give me firmness, energy, zeal,

devotion to thy cause, courage in thy name, love as a working grace,

and all commensurate with my trust,

Let faith stride forth in giant power,

and love respond with energy in every act. 

I often mourn the absence of my beloved Lord whose smile makes earth a paradise,

whose voice is sweetest music, whose presence gives all graces strength.

But by unbelief I often keep him outside my door. 

Let faith give entrance that he may abide with me forever.

Thy Word is full of promises,

flowers of sweet fragrance, fruit of refreshing flavour when culled by faith.

May I be made rich in its riches, be strong in its power, be happy in its joy,

abide in its sweetness, feast on its preciousness,

draw vigour from its manna. 

Lord increase my faith.

About Scott Roberts

pastor of Hope in Christ Church, Bellingham, WA
This entry was posted in prayer. Bookmark the permalink.